Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (5 out of 5)
8 reviewed Community Development in Tanzania
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Awesome experience!

    The WE Organization that EF partners with was amazing. The staff were so kind and helpful. The food was great and accommodated all special diets. We felt incredibly safe and welcomed during our stay in Tanzania. Overall, we all had a wonderful experience. We loved the service project we worked on and the village we were in. There was so much cultural immersion, which the students loved. We learned so much and we will remember this trip for a lifetime!
    Tanzania / Adult traveler
    Sudbury, MA / Posted on February 28, 2018
  2. Jambo!

    This was a program that gave our students a deep, powerful, and meaningful experience, rich with cultural exchange and compassion.
    I would lead this trip over and over and over again.
    Lavoie / Group leader
    West Greenwich, RI / Posted on February 28, 2017
  3. Life Changing Journey!

    This trip was astonishing and breathtaking! Everything from this trip was a highlight! From the incredibly hospitable people, the beautiful landscape, the exotic animals, and the activities that made us reflect on our world, this adventure was just otherworldly! I would absolutely recommend this trip to anyone who has the chance to go!
    / Student traveler
    Austin, Texas / Posted on July 17, 2019
  4. Loved It! Wants to go back!

    My daughter had a wonderful experience. She still talks about it. This experience will be a lasting memory for her and she is appreciating the things she has. All the traveling went smoothly! Met some great people!
    Zebby / Parent
    Yankton, SD / Posted on July 02, 2019
  5. Transformative Experience

    This trip is like a retreat. The tour provides space for the students to talk, play, and reflect. They write letters home, keep journals, and are challenged every day to push against their own fears and limitations.

    There is a kind of unpretentiousness and soulful expression to the Maasai way of being. They keep alive ancient rites of passage, sing and dance with abandonment, and look to the welfare of their community. What a contrast to our Western Enlightenment heritage with all its skepticism, detachment, and cool irony.

    Throughout the trip we talked about the genuine kindness showed to us by the Maasai – the ways they invited us into their rituals and homes, dressed us in their clothing and jewelry, and allowed us to play and dance with their children. Their generosity and kindness moved so many of our children to tears and hopefully, unlocked something in them.

    It was deeply gratifying and poignant to see our kids extend their hands to the Maasai people, to hear them learn to speak Swahili in a local market, to see their faces shine as they held hands with the Maasai children, and their smiles after long shifts of pickaxing, shoveling, and mixing cement. From smearing cow dung on mud homes to shouldering 20 liter jerry cans of water along the distance of a mile, the students gained valuable perspective about their own lives and truly embodied what it means to “Take Delight in Simple Things.”

    There was also a classroom component to the trip—albeit in a tent. The curriculum designed by Me to We was top-notch. The kids examined the colonial history of Africa, they learned about the independence movement in Tanzania, and studied the five pillars of poverty-eradication: clean water, food security, health, education, and opportunity.

    The kids also engaged in service in multiple ways – constructing new housing for teachers, repairing bomas (traditional mud huts), carrying water, shopping for a local family, and playing games with the students. They all jumped in with enthusiasm and brought their best selves to each experience.

    Finally, the last two days of the trip focused on the natural habitats and environments of Tanzania. The kids experienced first-hand the grasslands of the Serengeti where they saw lions, elephants, giraffes, zebras, water buffaloes, caribou, and monkeys. The next day they trekked over 13 miles through the lower half of Mount Kilimanjaro, a rain-forest terrain full of cascading waterfalls, ferns, and hanging vines.

    This is a trip of a lifetime that challenges the students to bring their best selves to each experience. I've been on multiple student trips with EF Tours and this one is the absolute best.
    JWarner / Group leader
    San Antonio, TX / Posted on June 29, 2019
  6. Excellent experience

    A trip of a lifetime. Would definitely do this again.
    noname77 / Student traveler
    Hartland, WI / Posted on August 10, 2018
  7. Extrordinarily Insightful Trip

    I have been a traveler since I was very young, but not once in my life have I experienced something so grand as this trip. It really opened my eyes to the life in a third world country and changed my perspective on my own life. The community and staff were amazing, and I honestly wish I could go back!
    / Student traveler
    Sandpoint, Idaho / Posted on June 27, 2016
  8. Wonderful Experience

    This trip offered our students an experience that they will remember moving forward. The exposure to a different culture that they experienced through their time in Tanzania was remarkable and life-changing.
    Tanzaniatraveler / Group leader
    Austin, TX / Posted on June 24, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?